Skip to content

Not at all what I expected

February 21, 2006

I had a flash this afternoon, as I was standing at the sink washing dishes and listening to Super-Hubby tickle Tommy in the living room. My son’s laughter bounced around the room and ricocheted off the light fixtures and I thought, “This is not at all what I had expected.”

I really have no idea what I expected parenthood to be, but I suspect that I expected it to be a fairly solitary adventure, just me and baby, with daddy being more or less in the background. Not because I thought Super-Hubby would be bad with the children, but because the only child-watching experience I have is as a babysitter and as a nanny – both occupations where you are alone with children. It didn’t even occur to me that there would be times – like when I was up to my elbows in hot, soapy water – that Super-Hubby would take over the child rearing. Or maybe it did, in theory. Maybe I just didn’t expect to get such a kick out of it.

There is something magical about working in tandem with my husband to raise our son, to build our family. I was doing chores, but I was completely at peace. I loved listening to Super-Hubby do his Elmo impression. I loved listening to Tom giggle and shriek. Lovely.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Chilihead2 permalink
    February 22, 2006 2:59 pm

    Some of my favorite memories of my kids are just listening to them play with their dad upstaris. It’s an entirely different dynamic.

  2. Heth permalink
    February 22, 2006 4:05 pm

    That is so sweet Goslyn.

  3. mopsy permalink
    February 22, 2006 7:31 pm

    Lovely indeed.

  4. J-Tron permalink
    February 22, 2006 10:28 pm

    Did he do his impression of Elmo singing Tori Amos? That always cracks me up.

  5. Jess permalink
    February 22, 2006 11:51 pm

    I’m glad that both of you are so involved. That sounds sparkly indeed.

  6. shannon from rocks in my dryer permalink
    February 23, 2006 1:37 am

    He’s a blessed little boy.

  7. Stephanie permalink
    February 23, 2006 2:26 am

    It’s those moments of togetherness that make me so thankful. The giggles. The singing. The silliness that holds families together.

    Lovely post.

  8. Stuff permalink
    February 23, 2006 3:40 pm

    I can’t wait until you guys have another one (or two, or three….). Witnessing a good dad is truly breathtaking, but nothing’s quite as sweet as catching a good big brother comfort or make a baby sibling laugh, and being able to catch hubby’s eyes, hands, or embrace at the same time. 🙂

  9. Rachelle permalink
    February 23, 2006 10:25 pm

    I love the family feeling and how it all cohesis. My dh is Mr. Mom while I work and I love how seamlessly the care transfers from me to dh to back again and how when we are all home together, it just flows. I know my son is blessed to have parents who love and care for him so much, just as your boy is blessed.

Leave a Reply

