Skip to content

Wednesday Joy

September 20, 2006

This morning, just shy of dawn, I heard my son stirring in his crib. He was chattering sorrowfully to his stuffed duck. I cracked open my heavy eyelids and prayed he’d go back to sleep.

“Just 30 minutes more,” I silently begged. “Just 30 minutes more.”

But his pathetic conversation continued, and I there was no way I could leave him in his crib when he sounded so sad.

I hauled myself out of bed and down the stairs to his room. He was laying on his stomach in his crib, running his hand along the rails like a prisoner runs a tin cup along the bars of his jail cell.

My half-asleep heart melted.

I bundled him up and carried him and his duck downstairs, where we set up shop on the couch. He promptly snuggled down on my chest and went right back to sleep. And so did I.

What a lovely way to spend my morning – stretched out on my couch, cradling my baby.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jess permalink
    September 20, 2006 12:19 pm

    Oh, that sounds lovely. Thanks for sharing a little snapshot!

  2. daring one permalink
    September 20, 2006 2:01 pm

    That does sound wonderful. I spent my morning not harming my screeching children in any way. That’s good too, right?

  3. Magi permalink
    September 20, 2006 6:03 pm

    What a wonderful way to start a day.

    Thanks for stopping by my site today.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    September 20, 2006 8:45 pm

    I love the baby cuddled into my chest…mine is almost too big for that now.

    I laughed at the image of the prisioner running his tin cup down the bars…I so feel that way when my kids have used cribs!

    I’m glad you both went back to sleep.

    Kristine
    http://www.somesemblanceoforder.blogspot.com

  5. shannon permalink
    September 20, 2006 8:49 pm

    Aw, that is precious. Tonight, Gaby fell asleep on our way to dinner, and spent the evening sleeping on my shoulder.
    Man I love those moments.

  6. Jen Rouse permalink
    September 21, 2006 9:36 pm

    Beth went through a phase where she woke up super-early and we did that nearly every morning. It was indeed a sweet way to begin the day.

  7. beth permalink
    September 22, 2006 1:43 pm

    That does sound like a beautiful morning. I love it when you will them back to sleep and it actually works.

    And I hope this comment works. I’ve been over here a few times and it hasn’t let me comment yet. Beat thing?

  8. beth permalink
    September 22, 2006 1:44 pm

    Beta…Beta thing…looks like it’s working now though.

Leave a Reply

