Skip to content

A Kicking New Year

January 2, 2007

Last night, I lay in bed watching the the bright-green numbers on the clock change. 11:52. 11:53. 11:54.

A flutter rippled across my belly, just below my navel. I waited, hardly believing what I was feeling.

Then a volley of kicks and punches errupted, and I could feel him working his way back and forth along my stomach.

“Tap, Tap, Tap” went his feet, happily tattooing out a rhythm on my abdomen.

“Thump, thump, thump,” went my heart.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. mopsy permalink
    January 2, 2007 4:06 pm

    That’s the best part of pregnancy, IMO…wow! Did you tap back?

  2. shannon permalink
    January 2, 2007 4:09 pm

    Aw. That’s very sweet.

  3. Justin and Angie permalink
    January 2, 2007 5:57 pm

    I love that! It just seemed to make it so real to me. Congrats again on a healthy adn apparently happy lil man!

  4. Meredith permalink
    January 2, 2007 6:38 pm

    What a great feeling!

  5. Goslyn permalink
    January 2, 2007 7:01 pm

    I agree, Mopsy. The kicks are by far the best part of pregnancy. I have been awaiting these with baited breath. It has taken a much longer time to feel this baby than it did with his brother.

  6. Heather permalink
    January 3, 2007 2:03 am

    Oh wow! I’ve been away from blogging so long I didn’t know you were pregnant. Congrats, and it is definitely very sweet.

  7. Candace & Anna permalink
    January 3, 2007 9:59 am

    Awwww the sweetest feeling on earth!!! You will never forget the end of 2006 now.

  8. Heth permalink
    January 3, 2007 12:47 pm

    Awwww. A milestone for sure.

  9. Suzanne Temple permalink
    January 3, 2007 10:13 pm

    Sooo sweet!

  10. LZ Blogger permalink
    January 4, 2007 12:53 am

    You can stay up that late? You must be a lot younger than I? ~ jb///

  11. Jen B permalink
    January 4, 2007 4:31 am

    Hey banana nose! Such a sweet post! He’s kicking, yay!
    I hope you’re feeling better. Let’s talk soon!! love ya!

  12. Judy permalink
    January 4, 2007 9:20 am

    Oh, how wonderful!

    I still sometimes get that feeling.
    Now it’s called ‘onions on a pizza’.

    Not nearly as exciting!

  13. Rachelle permalink
    January 5, 2007 11:18 am

    I’m so sorry about your big scare recently! What a reassuring experience.

  14. Rachelle permalink
    January 5, 2007 1:28 pm

    Ok, I’m an idiot and posted my last comment on the wrong blog. But I am still glad things are going well with your pg!

Leave a Reply

