Skip to content

Karate Kid

November 15, 2007

A few weeks ago, I started taking karate classes. I got hooked when the sensei from a local dojo came to my MOPS group and taught us all a little self-defense. The thwack of my fist against the pads was just so satisfying.

So I signed up for the trial month – $60 for three hours a week in lessons, uniform included. I went to every class. I pushed myself. On the first day, I could do 10 push-ups and no sit-ups. Not  even one. Two babies in two years will do that to your abs, I guess.

By the fifth class, I was up to about 40 push-ups and 30 sit-ups. I’m improving. I’m losing a little weight – I would lose more if I laid off the brownies.

My favorite time of the week are the minutes just after class, when I’ve had an hour to myself, to do something good for myself. When my children scream and I have to go to that happy place, I’ve been taking a mental trip to the padded an mirrored dojo, imagining practicing my round kick.

But this is where karate turns bad. Once they have you hooked, they jack up the price on you. They jack the price WAY up. We’re talking car payment way up.  The sensei might be able to let me work off some of the cost by doing some painting in the studio, but I just don’t know. I feel like I got hooked on a free sample of crack, and now I’ve got to sell the house or the car or the kids to pay for my next hit.

Oh, I don’t know what to do. My heart says – ‘Go, go, go! Your mental and physical health is worth the money!’ My head says – ‘Stop, stop, stop! I know we can’t afford this. It’s just not possible.’

Ugh.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Samantha permalink
    November 15, 2007 1:51 pm

    Have you looked to see if there are any other places that cost less? As a fellow mom, I feel that you need to do something that gives you satisfaction and time away where you can just be you, no kids attached. Maybe it’s karate, maybe it’s something else. For me, it’s going to the gym (Curves) after hubby gets home from work. I truely look forward to it all day because I know that it’s time away from my son where I can just work my butt off and feel invigorated afterwards. Hope you can figure something out. I will be praying for you. 🙂

  2. November 16, 2007 5:45 pm

    Wow, I think it’s great that you started karate. I’m sorry to hear they jacked up the price on you. They must have taken a page out of the cable company’s manual.

    I hope you can find a way to do something great for your spirit and body that won’t sting too badly, financially.

  3. November 17, 2007 11:57 am

    When asked “what do you want for Christmas?” have you considered asking for these classes? Surely a parent would gladly give you this.

  4. November 17, 2007 5:01 pm

    I had the same thought as JJ–could you ask for a gift certificate to the karate studio as a Christmas present? It does seem like a great parent/grandparent gift, easy and very much appreciated…It seems like karate is providing you with some great physical and emotional health benefits, so if there’s any way to continue, that would be awesome, even if it’s a financial stretch! It’s not like you’re spending the money on shoes, you know (insert guilty smile here)…

  5. November 20, 2007 1:58 am

    I stopped. At yellow belt. But of course I think you should keep going.

Leave a Reply

