Skip to content

Friday Finds: Christmas Reading

November 23, 2007

Friday Finds Button

 

No one would accuse me of having “country” decorations in my home. I don’t do gingham. But this week, I have some great crafty holiday reading for you, and it’s country, y’all.

 

Our library keeps a cart of “impulse books” right by the circulation desk, under the same principle that grocery stores put candy by the checkout. You’re waiting in line, and something catches your eye, so you snatch it and throw it in the library bag. The good news is that, unlike candy, the books don’t usually cost you calories.

 

Except that two weeks ago, the cart was full of crafty Christmas books. I grabbed one by Gooseberry Patch, because it looked like it might have some neat recipes. And boy, did it ever. The Gingerbread Pancakes are to die for, and especially delicious served with warmed lemon curd. They even have several neat holiday decorating ideas for the craft-impaired, like myself. For those of you who sew and/or love to do crafty things, this book is a treasure trove.

 

Happy Holidays!

***

Since I haven’t had a lot of response for the “play along” part of Friday Finds, I’m not going to bother putting up a Mister Linky today. If you’d like to play, leave a permalink to your post about your Friday Find in comments. If there’s enough of them, I’ll put up a Mister Linky.

 

Thanks!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2007 8:17 pm

    I’m here via TotalMomHaircut đŸ™‚ I liked the name of your blog and hopped over!

    I collect gingerbread stuff–we display it here and there during the Christmas season, so I’ll have to check out the pancake recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  2. November 26, 2007 12:46 pm

    Ohhh! The pancakes sound divine. Could you post the recipe?

  3. December 4, 2007 9:36 am

    I just came from the Gooseberry Patch website. I just LOVE that they are selling repros of the ‘Shiny-Brite’ ornaments of my childhood!

    So glad I found you here. I’m one of the unluckies whose computer crashed when I accessed your former site.

    Goodness, how your little men have grown!

Leave a Reply

