Skip to content

Honesty

September 18, 2008

I was in the kitchen, savoring the last of a perfectly brewed café au lait, when I heard the scream. I rushed into the living room, headed straight for the tiny unapologetic offender.

“Tommy, why is your brother screaming?” I asked.

“‘Cause I pulled Sef’s hair.”

“Why did you pull his hair, sweetie?”

He waited a beat, sizing me up with amused eyes. Seth had already stopped crying, and was watching us intently.

“‘Cause I was riding him like a horse,” he grinned, eyes twinkling.

I slapped my hand over my mouth to cover my snort of amused laughter, but Tommy caught on to me. He apologized to his brother and headed obediently to the time out corner, but I don’t think he felt particularly chastised. At least I can’t fault his honesty.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2008 6:19 pm

    It’s like he knew how hysterical it is! I mean, c’mon mom – we’re riding a horse here – you gotta expect a little hair to be lost:)

  2. Samantha permalink
    October 1, 2008 6:04 pm

    Boy, do we know that “hand over mouth” scene all too well. James like to exclaim that his dinner is yucky, and he says “don’ wike it! it’s yucky.” Sometimes we have to leave the room to avoid him seeing us laugh. He recently exclaimed that he had stinky poopy in his daiper when I was changing him. It’s amazing how much they pick up from us as far as words go. I guess we have to be careful what we say.

Leave a Reply

