Skip to content

Perfect Potty Training

October 22, 2008

Tommy, you may be glad to know, has been successfully potty trained since the beginning of August. And, not to brag or anything, but the process was easy and quick, with few struggles and fewer accidents. So here are my four easy steps to getting your toddler potty trained in under 48 hours.

Step 1: Invite in-laws to visit for the weekend, sometime near your toddler’s third birthday. This is a very, very important step.

Step 2: Exhaust yourself to the point that when your mother-in-law shows up and announces it’s time for your child to “learn to use the potty” you just nod tiredly in her direction and go to bed, instead of arguing with her about it.

Step 3: Sleep most of the weekend.

Step 4: Wake up on Sunday to a fully potty-trained child who is able to get up and use the bathroom at night with no accidents.

And voila, potty training in just four easy steps. Although you should probably add a fifth step involving unending love and devotion to said MIL, as she is a saint and Godsend.

I’m just sayin’.

Head back  to Rocks in my Dryer for more WFMW tips!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2008 1:04 pm

    So funny – I would have better luck with my mom than my in-laws, though!

  2. October 22, 2008 1:05 pm

    Can I borrow your mother-in-law???????

    🙂 That sounds amazing!

  3. October 22, 2008 1:09 pm

    ok, I mean this in the nicest way… you suck! I have been trying to potty train my son for way too long. He’s 36mos old and while he’s had times when we was going regularly for awhile – lately he’s been pitching a fit whenever we try to get him to sit on the pot. And he doesn’t even dream of pooping on the toilet. We’ve tried lots of different “techniques”. He just doesn’t care. He’s perfectly happy wearing a diaper and having someone else (ME) wipe his butt for him. sigh…. sorry, as you can tell this is wearing me out!!

  4. October 22, 2008 4:01 pm

    I encouraged both my Mother-in-law (who came to visit this summer) and my mom (who live near by) to do this for me but alas I had to do it myself!! Thankfully it is almost done now with even more successed today!

  5. October 22, 2008 10:15 pm

    Holy cow! Is your mother-in-law available to rent? Would she mind making a quick little trip out to Oregon to potty-train my 2-year-old?

  6. October 28, 2008 11:09 am

    Wow, now that’s a super power that comes in handy.

  7. November 17, 2008 7:21 am

    Hmm, I hadn’t thought of that yet! I have about 6 months to make that happen…or potty train elebelly on my own.

Leave a Reply

