Skip to content

Dino-might

November 3, 2008

This morning, thanks to the miracle that is daylight savings time, my sweet 3-year-old appeared in my bedroom at 5:30 today, asking if it was morning time yet.

I told him it was most definitely not morning time, but he could be the jelly in the mommy and daddy sandwich if he’d lay in bed with us for a while. So he did. And we snuggled until his cold, cold feet were toasty warm and the sun began to turn the sky a pearly gray.

We headed downstairs to the kitchen, tiptoeing through the nursery to keep from waking Seth. As Tom stood in front of the fridge, awaiting his breakfast, I couldn’t help myself. I looked at his little round head and my heart overspilled. I scooped him up and hugged him.

“Do you know what you are?” I asked. “You are a treasure and a delight.”

“No thank you,” he politely replied. “I’m a triceratops.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2008 9:18 am

    HA…Thanks for the Monday morning giggle. How adorable!

  2. November 3, 2008 3:53 pm

    At least he knows who he is in life. That’s important.

  3. Jen permalink
    November 3, 2008 10:35 pm

    AWWW! I love it. So, so sweet.

    BTW, I was totally serious about the election coverage tomorrow night. You’re welcome to join us. You and all your crew. XOXO

  4. November 17, 2008 9:42 am

    That’s classic. I love so much what you said to him. And I’m fairly certain that were I to say something like that to Sam he’s say something like, “No I not! I’m Llllllightning McQueen!”

Leave a Reply

