Skip to content

He Walks on Water (Sort of)

December 3, 2008

We’ve been practically walking on water here in the Wishful Thinking household. About a week ago, our 100-year-old plumbing began its death march. Our always slow-draining tub, the only one in the house, stopped draining at all. Bathing became a nasty dance in icky water while trying to clean the rest of your body as quickly as possible.

A bad situation, but one that Handsome Husband was sure he could fix. And I was glad for his handiness, since my sister and almost her entire family are arriving tomorrow for an early, weekend-long Christmas celebration.

Eight people (three of whom are stinky teenage boys) plus one non-functional shower did not equal holiday harmony in my mind.

So Handsome Husband got to work on the drain. He tried to snake it, only to find the snake blocked just a few inches into the drain. He tried to pull whatever was in there out, and ended up frustrating himself but not clearing the drain.

This afternoon, after lunch he came down defeated. “I just can’t do it,” he said.

I reached for the phone to call my neighbor, Roxi, to ask for a recommendation for a good plumber. Last time a plumber came to my house it cost $250 for him to snake our drain. I braced myself.

Roxi picked up after a few rings. “A good plumber? Sure … wait, he’s just leaving. Jon!” she yelled, calling him back. “Do you have time to run over to my neighbor’s?”

He did. Thirty seconds later a plumber was at my door. Three minutes later he was leaving, having pulled the cap from a bottle of baby lotion out of the drain. He refused to charge me for the work.

It’s a Christmas miracle – one that I didn’t even think to pray for. But someone was looking out for us, nonetheless.

And if you need a good plumber, and you live in the Philadelphia area, email me. I know a great plumber.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2008 4:26 pm

    Yay! So glad it worked out so easily. Have a great early Christmas with your family!

    Also: if you don’t have New Year’s Eve plans, we hope you can join us! We’re going to throw a party! Evite to follow as soon as I can make S write some witty copy…

  2. December 3, 2008 4:27 pm

    P.S. I really like the holiday layout! I am a sucker for anything red. 🙂

  3. December 3, 2008 5:13 pm

    That is amazing! A Christmas miracle indeed.

  4. December 3, 2008 6:37 pm

    First, I love the Christmas theme. Very nice!

    Second? A vicarious hug for the plumber and continual amazement at the small and big ways God cares for us.

Leave a Reply

