Skip to content

Germs and Snow

February 3, 2009

    what-i-learned-this-week1

    It’s week two Jo-Lynne’s What I Learned This Week carnival over at Musings of a Housewife. Here’s what I learned this week:

    • It is entirely possible for a 3-year-old to throw up and have the runs every 20 minutes for 12 hours and still feel like playing with his toys and tearing around the house pretending to be a superhero.
    • After taking care of said sick child, you will pray fervently that washing your hands till they crack and bleed will keep you from getting the same disease.
    • You will think that you escaped, and do a happy dance of joy, only to catch the same bug five days later.
    • Guaranteed, when the bug hits, you will also get six inches of nasty snow and ice, making it near impossible to get to the store for ginger ale, Gatorade or any other necessities.
    • There will be no one to take care of you while you are sick, and you will still have to take care of your own kids, who by now are feeling full of energy.

    What did you learn this week?

    14 Comments leave one →
    1. February 3, 2009 8:40 am

      Isn’t that the truth about not being able to get to the store?! Hopefully you aren’t sick now! If so, feel better! Drink something warm and send the kids outside in the snow!

    2. February 3, 2009 10:33 am

      That sounds like one harsh week! I hope you are feeling better at this point. Here is to a better, more healthy week!!

    3. February 3, 2009 10:51 am

      Yuck! Sounds like a difficult week. Hope you have a better one this week, where you learn happy things about chocolate and naps and good novels.

    4. February 3, 2009 12:29 pm

      Been there. I don’t have any issues with letting the kids play video games or watching a video while I’m sick on the sofa. I hope you feel better soon.

    5. February 3, 2009 1:15 pm

      Oh my WORD. This is the second (or third?) What I Learned This Week participant who has learned too much about the stomach flu. UGH! Feel better soon!

    6. Carol permalink
      February 3, 2009 3:43 pm

      Well, maybe you could bring some snow in the house in a basin and let your little one play with that. At least the snow will do some good that way!

    7. February 3, 2009 3:55 pm

      Hope you feel better soon! I always keep a ginger ale in the fridge in the garage. That way when one of us is sick, it’s cold and ready, and no one has to run to the store:)

    8. February 3, 2009 6:32 pm

      Ugh. I am hoping you recover quickly and will be swooping around in your supermommy cape soon.

      Your situation is the reason grocery store deliveries should be universal and free.

    9. February 3, 2009 6:56 pm

      Ugh…I guess I should be even more thankful I have help when I am sick.

    10. February 3, 2009 8:42 pm

      Oh goodness. That doesn’t sound fun by any stretch of the imagination. Hope you are feeling better soon!

    11. February 3, 2009 9:09 pm

      OK, I have that same 3 year old living in my house, I posted this week about how I walk around with a clorox wipe in each hand when someone is loosing fluid from either end and inevitably I will catch it at the worst time on the worst day and be stuck taking care of everyone but me too…we live parallel lives in this respect. Can’t wait to read more of your blog.

    12. February 4, 2009 11:19 pm

      Oh my, Now I look like astalker…bt I had to come back and see if you updated the illness…I now have 2 under 8 with Viks smeared on their chests, noses that won’t let breath in or out -the three year old says she “hurts” and when I ask where she say “Me, I just hurt” ARGH…

      Can 8 am come any sooner so I can call the dr?

      Do I have enough clorox wipes?

      Why are we in the mountains and sick again…oh me oh my – tommorrow nights post is sure to be a doozy.

    13. February 6, 2009 3:54 pm

      Well, you and I have been doing the EXACT SAME THING this week!

    14. February 11, 2009 9:07 am

      Exactly!

      Did you ever see this book called Bad Baby? The premise is just what you speak of — very funny!

      Thanks for visiting us on LMLD!

    Leave a Reply

