Skip to content

Burned Out

March 29, 2008

There’s a gloomy shadow hovering around my kitchen door. One of the kitchen lights is burned out – and has been for months. At least seven other lights around my house are also dark these days, but laziness and inertia have kept me from replacing them.

And for the past few months, I’ve been burned out too. Blogging had sucked the life and energy right out of me, and had become a chore, instead of a pleasure. I was constantly comparing myself to other bloggers and finding my work coming up short. I wasn’t making money off my blog, I wasn’t getting to try new products for free, and I wasn’t getting comments (or readers, for that matter.) I simply wasn’t having fun any more. So why bother?

But as I’ve waded through this unexpected and somewhat grumpy blog break, I’ve realized that I miss the community. I miss knowing how Suzanne and her brood are doing. I miss seeing  pictures and completely adorable videos of Jules and Sydney.  I miss Scribbit’s completely awesome craft and food ideas.

I miss having a forum for recording the crazy minutiae of every day life: the folding -and refolding – of the laundry after the baby climbs into the basket and plays peek-a-boo with all the clean towels; the toddler who uses a butter knife as a gear shift; the grocery-store meltdown that makes me laugh so hard I am crying.

So today I’m going to the hardware store to replace all those burned out bulbs. And I’ll do my best to be around here a little more, too.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2008 8:57 am

    You know, the time of year doesn’t help much either. I know that inertia and I’ve lived with broken things that seemed beyond repair for months on end only to find the fix-it project very simple once I put my mind to it. Good for you to make that effort!

    Spring will come soon and fresh air and flowers and bright blue skies will make you forget that you have lightbulbs in your house at all.

    I, for one, look forward to seeing you around more often.

  2. March 29, 2008 11:58 am

    I look forward to more blog posts from you! I always love reading about what you and the boys are up to since we see each other so rarely IRL. I love your new flower banner–so pretty and perfectly Spring!

  3. March 29, 2008 12:10 pm

    I too go through periods of blog fasting, for the sake of my sanity and my soul. No worries about having to take a break. But I’m glad you’re back.

  4. March 29, 2008 1:58 pm

    I’ve missed you! I was just thinking about you the other day, and wondering how you are doing. Of course, at these moments I should actually EMAIL you to say hi, but, ah, the laziness hits me too.

    I’ve gone through the same feelings of being burned out too, except that my family depends so much on my blog that they start calling me when I don’t post.

    Some people say to write for yourself, and not worry about others, but I think those of us that are used to an audience with our writing, that’s not always helpful advice. But I’ll be your audience. Reading. And wondering how those adorable boys of yours are doing 🙂

  5. March 29, 2008 2:25 pm

    I’m glad you’re back and I know exactly how you were feeling.

  6. March 29, 2008 6:11 pm

    I understand, I’ve been feeling a little burned out myself–so many things around here have been taking my time.

    I hope you get recharged soon and feel better about it all very soon.

  7. Angie permalink
    March 29, 2008 6:44 pm

    I miss reading you! Come back when you can!

  8. March 29, 2008 9:10 pm

    I am sooooo glad you posted again. I’ve just gotten back into the swing of things myself. I very much felt the way you did – like it was a chore, so I just stopped for a while…a long while. I didn’t start again until I really felt like it and now I’m really glad to be back. Just remember why you’re blogging in the first place and don’t compare yourself.

  9. March 30, 2008 10:29 pm

    Yay, I’ll look forward to more posts! I always enjoy reading about what you and the boys are up to, since we don’t get to actually see one another very often!

  10. Jules permalink
    March 31, 2008 4:46 am

    Hey hon, for what it’s worth I’ve been checking your blog site daily to see if you’ve had the chance to update. I love reading your entries and seeing what’s new & crazy in the Duck world.

    I hope Spring comes your way soon and gives you a renewed breath of life. I look forward to seeing more of your blogs soon…they may not seem like much to you but they’re lots to those of us too far away to curl up on your cozy couch. Lots of love & energy – Jules

  11. April 2, 2008 12:18 pm

    I hope you come back. I’ve missed you, too.

  12. April 7, 2008 9:53 pm

    I’ve missed you.

    I still laugh uncontrollable remembering your story of one of Tommy’s first words being “agua”. So cute, that family of yours.

  13. April 10, 2008 2:41 pm

    I’m new 🙂 Found you through Heth’s blogroll…keep on writing, I can’t wait to read more!

  14. April 21, 2008 6:55 am

    Hi Goslyn,

    That burnt out feeling is never any fun. I’ve felt that way for quite some time and I only have one rambunctious toddler to run around after. Now, I have another on the way but I’ve started mat leave early and I can’t fight this overwhelming urge to get back into blogging for the very reasons you mentioned in this post. I look forward to any of your future posts.

    Diana

  15. April 30, 2008 8:08 pm

    Just wanted you to know I was thinking about you and missing you! Hope you are doing well!

  16. May 9, 2008 3:53 pm

    I’m actually thinking I’m pretty lucky to find your site…

  17. May 31, 2008 9:27 am

    Peering over the fence like a Gladys Kravitz, wondering if all is well? Thinking of you, Stacy.

Leave a comment